Affiliated Academic Communities

The Chemistry Department strongly encourages interdisciplinary research. The following institutes, both on-campus and off, enable the interaction of our community with its counterparts in physics, biological sciences, geophysical sciences, astronomy and mathematics, thereby promoting wide-ranging cross-disciplinary studies.

Argonne National Laboratory (ANL)

Established in 1946, ANL is one of the United States Department of Energy's largest Research Centers. The University of Chicago operates this facility for the DoE. Many Chemistry faculty are actively involved as members of The Consortium for Advanced Radiation Sources (CARS), which comprises 3 sectors of x-ray beamlines at the Advanced Photon Source (APS) of ANL.


Ben May Institute for Cancer Research

Formally established in 1951, devoted to cancer research, the laboratories within the institute have advanced cancer treatment by providing answers to fundamental biological questions and by finding applications for groundbreaking scientific discoveries.


Enrico Fermi Institute (EFI)

The EFI was founded after World War II and has played a central role in the development of basic research in nuclear physics and nuclear chemistry, elementary particle physics, and astrophysics. Today the most active areas of research within the institute include high-energy experimental physics, theoretical particle physics, quantum field theory, astronomy and high-energy astrophysics, cosmology, general relativity, solar and planetary research, geo- and cosmochemistry, electron and ion microscopy, and solar energy concentration.


Howard Hughes Medical Institute

The Howard Hughes Medical Institute's primary objective is the promotion of human knowledge within the field of basic sciences (principally the field of medical research and medical education) and the effective application for the benefit of humanity. A scientific and philanthropic organization, its laboratories are located in academic medical centers, universities, and other research institutions throughout the United States. Investigators at the University of Chicago focus on five broad areas: cell biology and regulation, genetics, immunology, neuroscience, and structural biology.


James Franck Institute (JFI)

The JFI is an association of scientists with primary interests in the study of physical chemistry and condensed matter physics.  It was established after World War II as the Institute for the Study of Metals, with the present name being adopted in 1967 to reflect a broader emphasis on the chemistry and physics of materials: solids, liquids and gases.


Materials Research Science and Engineering Center(MRSEC)

The NSF Materials Research Center at the University of Chicago is an institute comprised of researchers interested in projects at the forefront of materials science.The MRSEC's shared resources allow for opportunities in collaboration and discovery that are not always possible for individual research groups.


The Institute for Biophysical Dynamics (IBD)

The IBD unites scientists from the Biological and Physical Sciences Divisions who participate in leading edge cross-disciplinary collaborative research involving molecular to cellular to mesoscopic size scales, complexity and dynamics.


The Institute for Molecular Engineering (IME)

Newly established in 2010, the Institute for Molecular Engineering is the largest new academic program the university has started since the founding of Harris School of Public Policy in 1988. With renowned scientists from around the world, the Institute conducts research at the intersection of chemical, electrical, mechanical, and biological engineering as well as materials, biological, and physical sciences. The institute's work exploring cutting-edge technologies in nanoscale manipulation and design at a molecular scale has the potential for innovation with societal impact in such areas as the environmental sustainability, health care, and information technology of the future.